Monday, August 19, 2013

First thoughts after two days of riding

I've been almost to 200 miles since I got the bike yesterday.   I have to say it's a lot of fun, and I'm kind of getting more comfortable with it. I went for about a hour ride tonight, and it felt great outside.  I only had one person try to race me, which I didn't really care to race a truck anyways.  I only have a problem with riding on Sand so far.

I noticed today, I'm more comfortable with turning and stopping.

If you live in Oklahoma and want to go riding, just comment here and maybe we can set something up!  I currently don't have any riding buddies, but I'll always be looking.

I bought a drift HD 720, so in probably the next couple of weeks, I'll take a video of myself riding.

Have a good one, and remember:  When in doubt, lean in, and throttle out.

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Finally got my bike!


Thanks to all of my readers and a BIG Thanks to /r/Motorcycles at reddit.com for helping me know what to do when buying a used bike.

Information on bike:  2008 Ninja 650.  There is a little bit of cosmetic damage, but nothing serious.  I will soon change spark plugs, oil, filters, and I am looking at some new handlebars.  I'm not really a fan of how high they are.

Have any questions?  Please comment!  This is my first motorcycle and so far it has been fun.  Have went 130ish miles so far on the first day of owning.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Quick life update

First off, sorry about not posting for a few weeks.  I have been going to job interviews, found a motorcycle I wanted and getting everything taken care of, so I can buy the bike.  So far: I bought insurance (so I could ride it back if I get it), bought a helmet and gloves, and since I already have a jacket I can wait a while for that.

I still want to buy some riding pants, some boots, and a camera.  The camera, i'm currently looking at the drift HD 720.  It's only 100 dollars and looks like it's pretty good quality.  If you have any insight on it, could you please share with me?

I'm currently under a job interview process, I've passed two phases so far, so that's pretty cool. I actually have less than 12 hours, so I better get to sleep so I'll be rested!

Anyways, I just wanted to update any of my followers are why i haven't been posting and I hope to start posting more soon. I may even do a few riding videos.

If everything is good to go and looks good, i'll be buying a 2008 Ninja 650.  A bike I have wanted for a while now.

Friday, August 2, 2013

[Update] Motorcycle insurance

We called for four different quotes for the bike and it has been a week, but we still haven't heard anything. We're going to call them soon to see what's going on.

After I find out how much insurance will be, I'll actually have to wait for the money (a week) then I can go to the dealership and buy it.  This blog should be more interesting once I get a bike.