Sunday, April 28, 2013

Watched the movie pain and gain

I watched the movie Pain and Gain today and first off, I would say this is a good movie and funny.

It's a bit gruesome and kind of real like, but it's funny, and dramatic at the same time.  It's based on true story and it portrays it quite well.

You get the sense of them saying "stereotypical weightlifters are stupid, but huge."

I would say you have to go watch it.

NFL update due to the Draft

I love football, and one of the greatest things has just ended.  The NFL draft.  Great players have went to teams, and nothing more important than the New England Patriots.

Many people around me know my favorite team is the Patriots.  I have liked them, since the first time I started watching football.  

All of the teams in AFC East has improved besides the Bills.  They picked up EJ Manuel, but other than that i'm not sure.  Jets got a replacement for Revis in Milliner and they picked up Sheldon Richardson, which is a pass rusher. The biggest improvement has to be with the Dolphins.  One of my good friend's favorite team is the Dolphins and they are trying to make it big.  They picked up Dion Jordon after moving up to pick 3. They got themselves a little bit of everything.  Now, the New England Patriots picked up one notable player in Aaron Dobson.  He has amazing hands, not the fastest, but can make some amazing catches.  

I believe the starting lineup will be: Amendola, Dobson, A. Hernandez, Gronk, Ridley, and Brady!  

If Dobson comes out like we all believe he will, we're looking at yet again another Superbowl approach.  Brady has a thing about making his WR improves.  The one thing I worry about Amendola and Gronk is if they can stay healthy.


Update on life 4/28/13

I have decided to do an update on life every month now.  I have been doing it whenever something changed her whatever, but I will restrict.

I requested the day off for my MSF course and I got it, I worked the Friday before and the Monday after (sucks lol.. oh well.)

I have been playing two different games.  On PS3 I have been playing NBA 2k11, since I don't have the newer one and I am saving money, and on PC I have been playing command and conquer generals.  I believe this is the best command and conquer available to date.  I just like how it's semi realistic and not too many bugs.

I still want a CBR500R, but I doubt I'll be able to get it before school lets out.  My previous plan was to be able to ride it to school at least one day, but it doesn't look like I'll be able to.

I still have to figure out the insurance cost and how much the actual bike is, but I have a very close idea, so I will probably be fine.

I hurt my wrist, so I quit doing push ups for now.  Monday I will need to start back up because i'm going from 250 to 450 this week.  I have had an ace bandage protecting my wrist. I still have no idea what caused it to hurt.

If you want to tweet me, You can at @gtcgabe12

Thanks!

Friday, April 26, 2013

-Update- on my road to take MSF Course

Today I bought some basketball shoes (since it'll cover my ankle bone).  I got them really cheap (20 dollars, because they were on sale.)

I have everything to be able to take the course.  Now I just need to buy some new gloves, and a helmet.

The gloves I was looking at are around 30 dollars and the helmet is around 90-110.

So far everything is going well.

Once I get a bigger audience (Tell your friends about me!) I will be doing life updates, challenges, more intense and better than ever.

I am also looking for a video camera with an external mic!  If you find one, let me know please.

Anyways.  Have a good one and until next time... It's anonymous.

Thursday, April 25, 2013

CISPA is dead... For now

CISPA is dead for now, but do not let this put you of guard. They may try to pull a fast one. No one wants to lose their privacy. So keep fighting and celebrate for a tiny bit.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

What's wrong with Techyless.com?

As you know, my other site is called www.techyless.com.  If you go to it you'll know that I still have my site blocked out.  Yes, I do, in order to fully show support of stopping CISPA.

I will continue this support until the end of the month. (7 more days)

Thank you, and don't forget to Call your senator to #StopCISPA

The reason why I went dark for CISPA

CISPA is a bill that has gone through the House, and is making it's way to the senate.  It's a bill that eliminates all of your privacy online.  It's like having the government putting a camera in your living room and watching everything you do and watch.  You might not think you do anything bad, but the government can interpret anything into something negative.

I'm not Anti CISPA because I do illegal stuff, I'm against it because it violates my privacy.  I can choose what I put on my facebook or twitter accounts, but some things you put on your computer you just want to be the only one to know.

To help eliminate the threat of CISPA is to call your senators and tell them No to CISPA (CIS-PA).

Help make the world a better place, without losing your privacy with CISPA.  They only want it to pass to gain even more money than what they already have.

In other news.

I'm much closer to taking my MSF class.  Tomorrow or Thursday I will be buying some shoes to wear at the class, then I'll be fine until afterwards, in which I'll need to buy a helmet.  I found out my Cousin will be there, so we're going to go to lunch with my friend. I can't wait to start riding a motorcycle.

I have been playing command and conquer generals, because this game is awesome! Top 3 in the command and conquer series.

Confession:  I accidentally slammed a door on my ex and didn't even know it!

On to the next one!  Have a good day.

Friday, April 19, 2013

Now until MSF Course

From now on until I take the MSF course and pass, I will have to be saving up.

I need to buy some gear.

I have currently: Jacket


I need: Helmet, Gloves, and  boots or high top shoes.

I have found some gloves I can use for about 20-30 dollars
The Helmet's I have been looking at ranges from 80 to 110 dollars
I found some super light and comfortable high top shoes for 35 dollars.

Would you suggest anything else?
Do you want to help? If so Email me please.

I have 22 days (from this Friday) until I take the course.  I plan on buying a motorcycle very shortly after the test.  My goal is to have a motorcycle before May 23rd.

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Signed up for the MSF Class

Today I signed up for the MSF class with a friend of mine. We will be taking it on May 11th and May 12th. I hope to learn a lot, but I think most of it will be fine and familiar with me since I have had a CRF230f for so long.

I took the MSF class for the knowledge of laws and other stuff I could possibly learn.  It will also waive my written and skills test and gives me a discount on my insurance.  The combination of learning how to stay safe, and be safe for cheaper made me take notice.  There isn't negative towards learning new things on how to stay safe!

I still have a little less than a month to get ready, but I still need some boots, and maybe I might get a helmet before then, but they have loaners if I need it.

I have a jacket and I have some gloves that I use for my dirtbike, so i'm fine in that compartment for now until I can save up and buy a motorcycle.

I hope all of this will lead to great things and I hope everybody rides safe.

What do you think is the most important thing a new rider should know?  Comment below and let everyone know!  Thank you. And safe riding.

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Watched the New Evil Dead Movie

Today I went to go see the Evil Dead Movie, and I have to say it wasn't bad.  Some parts made me jump, suspenseful and at times funny.  I would of course not take a kid, but it would make for a perfect movie for your girlfriend to jump in your arms.

I'll keep it short and say it's a good movie, not the best, but worth watching at least once.

Thursday, April 11, 2013

We got a new Puppy

We got a new puppy today.  The puppy is a full blood beagle. I just thought I should post this and let everyone know!  To solidify this post I'll put a picture!


Wednesday, April 10, 2013

The reason why I want a Motorcycle

Everybody has a passion. Something they truly care about doing and love doing it, while not everybody likes the same thing. My one thing not everybody loves doing is riding motorcycles.  I have had a Trail bike (crf230f) for about 5 years.  I have spent countless hours on it, honing my skills.  I have had my bad moments, such as breaking my collarbone and my wrist, bruising my leg, and messing up my knees.  I still love to go riding, which could only transition to the road.

I have been riding on the road before, but not on anything like a motorcycle (Sports).  The feeling you get when you are in full control over what you are doing is something you can't feel in a car, it's a whole another world once you transition from four wheels to two.  The danger is there, that's without saying, but as long as you ride smart, and don't try to outperform your limits, you should be fine.

Most motorbike wrecks are Operator errors.  Many people will say that the most motorbike wrecks are from other drivers, which there are a lot out there, mostly they are from other motorcycles, or incorrectly riding.

People will always say they are too dangerous and you shouldn't get one, but usually those are the people who have never experienced it, and sadly will probably never experience it.  You should never put something down unless you have tried it. It is like the old saying "don't judge a book by it's cover", while this may be for judging other people mostly, you can involve it around new activities.

The fun and thrill of riding a motorcycle is unmatched to anything else I have done.  I hope to start riding soon, but this time on the streets.

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Going to the movies by yourself

Okay, at first you are thinking: "Wow.. Get a life nerd", but bare with me!  Going to the movies by yourself can be fun, get some candy/popcorn/anything else and just go in there, get comfortable and watch a movie, without disruptions!

You can't go in there with a negative attitude. You go in there watching a movie you want to watch, and enjoy the next two hours of your life.

Everybody needs some time without other people picking at them, while this isn't for everybody, some people will find going to the movies just perfect.  I believe that everybody should try it, so why not try it now?

Pick a movie you want to see, buy some candy or food and a drink and go sit down and watch it!

This isn't really a guide, because I don't think anyone needs a guide on how to enjoy watching a movie.  You do it all the time at your house, and if you don't, you may want to reevaluate your life.

Sunday, April 7, 2013

Looking for a Motorcycle

I have always enjoyed motorbikes.  When I was in 8th grade, my parents bought me a crf230f Trail bike, which I used excessively for the last 5 years.

The bike was great, I spent many hours on it.  I have broke two bones (Collarbone and wrist), messed up both of my knees, and have wrecked countless times.  I wouldn't change anything about it, I regret nothing.  In fact, I now want a bike for the road.  I always wear a helmet (You are stupid if you don't), and I always enjoy the relationship one has with their bike.

Since I had a crf230f trail bike, I figured the transition won't be that difficult.

I'm currently looking at a CRB250R
and a CRB500R


I'm actually considering getting the 250 over the 500, due to the fact I want to fully understand the bike, and enjoy it without being too worried about killing my self or hurting the bike in the (it will happen) chance I turn the bike over.

I will be mainly using this for daily commuting, but I will also just go riding with it.  I have planned for Sunday's to be my riding days (when the weather is decent).

I haven't taken a MSF or have a M endorsement, but I hope to in the near future.  I bet by time I get everything the temperature will be cold, but it hasn't turned my decision to want a motorbike down.

I actually plan on taking my MSF course this month or next month depending on my buddy that is going to come with me.


Do you have a motorbike, or are you on the look out for a motorbike?  What would you consider the best and the worst reason to own one?  Let me know!

Remember, wear protection and stay safe!

Typing fast and the rest of the world

I would have to say most of the world's typing speed is lacking extremely bad.  I know so many people that I use to go to high school with that type less than 30 Words per minutes, but don't feel bad if you are included.  

Do you want to learn how to type faster and correct?  Going to college, yet still type very slow, but want to type faster for the tons of essays that you are going to be doing (yes, you will be doing a lot of essays and writing.)

This may sound like a odd approach, but try it.  When you are typing, if you notice you are typing, yet keep having to backspace, because of mistakes.  Try slowing your typing down.  It's easier to speed your typing up, than it is to type correct.  Keep your hands on homes row (a,s,d,f,g,h,j,k,l,;).  This will improve your typing, by just keeping your hands on home row (implying you are using a qwerty keyboard)

There are tons of games and stuff you can do to improve typing.
Here is a fun game I tend to enjoy when I was at school: http://phoboslab.org/ztype/

While I was writing this, I played a game of z-type and got:


This is a fun game and will improve your reaction and typing speed.

Can you beat my score?

In some programs I can type over 120+ words per minute, while this game seems to be lower.  I think it's mainly due to the fact the combination of words.  I don't know.  I have be timed at score at over 120 wpm.

I hope this helps, again, have any questions just contact me or post in comments.

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Google Drives and Docs


Google Drive:

A lot of people know what Google drive is, but for those that don’t.  Google Drive is Google’s cloud storage, which is also connected to other stuff including Google documents, Presentation, Spreadsheet, Form, and of course Drawing.

You can even host your own website, but it’s a bit more tricky, but can be found here: https://googledrive.com/host/0B716ywBKT84AMXBENXlnYmJISlE/GoogleDriveHosting.html

Collaboration at it’s finest is when you can work on a group project all at once!

Documents:

Have you ever used Microsoft Word?  If so, then Google documents won’t be that much of a shock.  There are a few things that are different, but it’s more of a basic Word Processor.  The biggest flaw I have with it currently is the lack of having columns.  I would think columns would be one of the first objects created.  I will not have a problem using this once they fix this issue.

Presentation:

Much like Powerpoint.  This would be an ideal collaboration tool if you were coming up with a project.  I haven’t dug deep down into it, but from what I have seen It’s much like Powerpoint.  

Spreadsheet:

This is my favorite, I have always like excel on Windows, so this wasn’t much of a surprise.  Unless you are using Excel at work, with extensive use, you’ll be perfectly fine, if not better.  I enjoy having my Spreadsheet saves as I do it, so I don’t lose any calculations.  I use this for budgets and other financial adventures.  It’s much like Excel, and maybe even better.  Good job Google.

Form:

Do you have a question to ask people?  You can create a form people can fill out.  I do not use this, nor have much experience with it, but you can have graphs and charts on what people answer.  It’s cool if you have a large list of contacts and enjoy having people answer your questions.

Drawing:

I’m not into drawing, but from what I can tell.  Google Drawing is mostly basic stuff, much like Paint.  I might try to use this more to get a hang of it, and if I do, I’ll be sure to edit this article.


Having all of this available from any computer, and automatically uploading to google’s drive is a great invention and realization of how great Cloud storage is.  What will be next in this journey of Online storage?

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Samsung Chromebook review ($249.00)


Samsung Chromebook review

Chromebook is Google’s version of a laptop, it’s running ChromeOS.  It’s basic, great for cloud computing, and a free 100GB drive storage for the first two years.  It has 16GB SSD, with a SD slot on the left side.

11 Inch laptop, a bright screen and great keyboard, but the touchpad takes some time getting familiar with it.  It’s very thin, little more than half an inch.  The Chromebook has a USB 2.0, USB 3.0, HDMI out, SD, audio out port, charging port, and if you bought the 3g laptop, you could put a sim in the back.

It’s very small, and weighing in under 3 pounds (2.4ish pounds.)

Start up is very fast, under 15 seconds.  There is no sound, since it’s fanless, and it stays fairly cool.  Battery life is 5 and a half to 6 hours.  When you open the laptop, it turns on in under 10 seconds.

At $250, and all you do is use chrome browser, this is the perfect laptop.

Some cons:

I haven’t figured out a way to connect to a home server, it’s rather difficult to play music, since you can’t make your own playlist and play it whenever you want (Offline.) This is NOT for games, you’ll be lucky to find a game you can play on this, but maybe eventually Google will update this.  I have no problems watching videos.  One of the most annoying things is the SD card sticks out, it’s not flush with the device, if it was, then I would like it a lot more.  

The laptop looks sleek, fancy, and perfect for traveling, besides the SD card sticking about ¼ inch out.

I would recommend this Samsung Chromebook to anyone who doesn’t play games, and enjoys browsing.  You can’t install any plugins or programs on to the laptop, but that’s a good thing, no way to get viruses.

You can put Ubuntu on a SD card to boot, At a later date I will post a how to.